Days like today usually start like any other.

Wake up. Brush teeth. Eat Breakfast…… Sometimes a dark cloud hangs from the second my eyes open, other days I’m trucking along and out of nowhere I’ve hit a wall and am flung flat on my back.

No one ever told me recovery was going to be easy. No one ever told me it was going to be fun. I fact everyone said this (in some form or another): “It will be the hardest thing you will ever do… and absolutely worth it.”

On hard days – pure grit and drive to recover are not always enough. On hard days It becomes ever so clear so I cannot do this alone.

Thank goodness I don’t have to.

I have so much inspiration for my recovery.

First, I am inspired by the girls and guys I have met in the various treatment settings I’ve been in. I’m inspired by their courage to continue – and their willingness to support me (and others) when a hard day or situation creeps in. Those people understand me better than anyone here on this earth. It’s almost like we speak a secret language: instantly calming, powerful, strong and heart-felt.
         My best friend Natalie and I make this deal “You pray for me and I’ll pray for you.” — Those prayers are so comforting and always help me get through even the toughest days that seem to never end.
         A fellow Roanoke Dance Alumni, Lauren Gross & I talk each other down (sometimes through texting during the day) to deal with moments of anxiety, or bumps in the road – always reminding each other we’re not alone.
       
Next, I am inspired by who I might become – just keep pushing, keep getting better, keep moving forward. I think about my family a lot in this regard – and all that they have done for me. I think about the hard work, the good days and the bad days, the impact I can make, or want to make. The people I love. The future inspires me.

Finally, I am incredibly inspired to be healthy by my faith – and what God has done for me – and what He might do through me.

Some days I like so many other wake up with a cloud – that eventually fades.
And during that time I need Inspiration

These people and things INSPIRE me to stand.

What inspires you?