Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

If you were to define yourself in three words what would they be? I’ve been asking myself this question for about a week now because of an assignment I did for school. What would my three words be? I also wonder are your three words different if you get to keep them private, rather than what we show the world around us?

If I were to describe myself in three words this is they would be:

1. Perseverance

2. Creative

3. Strong-willed

I chose perseverance because I’ve weathered many storms. Sometimes I look back on my struggles with my eating disorder, with my bipolar disorder, with my depression or anxiety and I wonder – how did I get through all of that? I’m here to tell you that it’s not special strength, it wasn’t any single person that saved me either. More than anything I can point to it was the fact that I kept putting one foot in front of the other, even when I wanted it all to stop.

I was put on so many different psychiatric medication before we found what worked. I tried different therapies, and treatment providers, different levels of care. I had days where I thought “tomorrow” would never come. Perseverance (and God’s will) kept me alive. 

I don’t have any super power. My intelligence is not far superior. I don’t have a secret code. But by God’s grace I persevere. So that is my first word. And maybe that is even my super power so now I can look life in the eye and confidently say: “What do you have coming for me now? Bring it on.”