Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I am no stranger to pain. Depression is a dull pain, persistently chipping away at what is supposed to be you. It takes the life out of you. It makes everything a little more dim. My depression always caused me to withdraw from my friends and my family, and when I was in it; I could see no way out. Here is a poem I wrote about depression. You’ll see the turning point when I made the decision to “Sit in the situation” because so often with clinical depression and other mental illness we can’t change what we are experiencing, and simply by accepting what is happening we can find even the smallest bit of relief. 

Pain
By: Erin
 
Straining my Soul
Heating my Heart
Beating my Bones
 
Pain
Pulsating
Persistently
 
Intentionally look inward
Cower from the Crowd
React without Recognition
 
Pain
Pulsating
Persistently
 
Desperately chase Denial
Sit in the Situation
Pursue a greater Purpose
 
Pain
Pulsating
Persistently
 
No one can say “Never”
Everyone faces it eventually
People can choose to
 
Pain
Pulsating
Persistently
 
Together we will Triumph
Make it through the madness
Help bring hope to the Hurting
 
Pain
Pulsating
Persistently