Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

StopDropBreathe

Do you ever find that you’re going about your day 10000000 miles per hour; and before you know it you feel like you are about to crumble? I know that this happens to me sometimes. Using the DBT skill “a moment to pause” definitely helps me find peace in the midst of crazy days!

It’s a pretty simple concept. Here’s how it works:

1. Take a moment in the midst of your crazy day to acknowledge how you are feeling – emotionally, physically, spiritually and mentally. Sometimes doing this will take more effort than other times. For me personally I have a hard time identifying how I feel sometimes, so writing it down on paper helps me, it my why of talking it out with myself.

2. This is a good time to take deep breaths, notice what is going on around you and within you, think about interactions between you and others. This will help you notice what you want to do next.

3. Sometimes people find that putting on music, a favorite song or music without words helps during this time, other people like putting their body in a specific position. Personally, I think closing my eyes and tilting my head to the sky, I also need to have some sound going on around me.

4. Check in with yourself regularly, 2-3 times per day so that you know what you need mentally, physically, emotionally, spiritually before you find yourself in a crisis.

The “Moment to Pause” skill empowers you to be responsive instead of reactive to life. Below feel free to tell me about your experience using the tool “A Moment to Pause!” I will respond to everyone who contacts me! Feel free to ask questions, tell me how it has helped or not helped you! I would LOVE to hear from you!