Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

“Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.”  Mark 11:24

I believe in prayer. Furthermore I believe in the power of prayer and the sacredness of communicating directly with God. In the days of deep depression and illness trapped in my eating disorder all day long I would write letters to the Father. While going through the motions of each day and walking from class to class I would ask Him to keep me going, keep me functioning or sometimes just ask for answers. The peace and comfort and joy that knowing God brings, the feelings of His presence and seeing His work in world kept me alive. It kept me from taking my own life.

I believe in medicine. I believe in treatment. I believe that doctors, knowledge, treatments ect. are good and therefore created by God. I don’t think I would be here today if it weren’t for the providers who have worked so hard with me. But ultimately they came from God, as did their gifts and eduction their aspirations.

Prayer and Medicine are NOT mutually exclusive. They are connected.

Some suggest that mental illness can be gone with either medicine alone or prayer alone. I ask you this: If you, or the person you loved most in the world had brain cancer and you had to choose between prayer to the Father or life-saving surgery which would you choose?

You wouldn’t want to choose. You would be praying, working with everyone you could, praying some more, having other people pray… Just because people thing psychology or psychiatry or mental illness or personality disorders are different than other types of medicine does not make it true. People believe things that are not true all the time; and the idea that mental illness is less dangerous or fatal than a tumor is as misguided as the belief that the world was going to end December 21, 2012.

I Stand for Prayer and Medicine.