Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Ok. I’ve been lacking on my DBT posts. I was visiting my parents and right now I have my brother in Harrisonburg with me. But today the skill is distract. Sound simple? Let’s see.

I need my DBT Skills

1. Distract with Activities:
  • What do you like to do?
  • What can you do mindlessly? (candy crush anyone?)
  • What can you do with another person?
  • What needs to be done?
  • What will make you feel accomplished?
2. Distract with opposite Emotions:
  • If you are sad – watch a funny movie or read some jokes.
  • If you are angry – play with your dog or listen to upbeat music.
  • If you are lonely – call someone – or go sit in a public place
3. Distract with “Putting at Arm’s Length.”
  • If you are dealing with reoccurring distressing throughs, put them away for a little while. Leave the situation mentally. It’s okay to put things on the shelf and then come back to it in the future.
4. Distract with Thoughts.
  • Use positive affirmations to get through tough moments or times.
  • “I will get through this…”
  • “God’s plan is bigger than mine..”
  • “I am worthy of love..”
  • “The moment will pass.”
  • Write them down (that always helps me! Sometimes I even write them on my hand!)
5. Distract with Sensations
  • Chew a piece of minty gum
  • Hold ice in your hand
  • light your favorite candle
  • suck on a piece of candy
  • squeeze a stress ball
  • take a cold shower
  • take a hot bath
  • listen to loud music

Sometimes life is intense. Sometimes it seems impossible to get through the moment without doing something harmful to ourselves. For some people that is destructive eating behaviors, other people struggle with self harm/injury, still other deal with alcohol and drug addiction. Some people turn to gossip and others turn to abusing others. The point of distract is that we don’t have to deal with everything at once. Especially when things get to be too much. While distracting from our emotions is NOT healthy if we do it everyday all day – it’s important that we do it when we need it!

You are worthy. You are loved.

Let me know what you think about the distract skill. What is your favorite thing to do? Email me at caseyee90@gmail.com