Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Image
Sometimes in life we feel stuck.

Maybe, it’s our circumstance we feel trapped in, maybe it’s treatment, maybe its a life stage. It’s bound to happen. I felt stuck in my eating disorder for years. Before I found a treatment regime that worked for me I felt stuck in my depression. Right now, I’m in a transition period in life and that fosters a sort of “stuck” feeling.

So how do you move forward when we feel stuck? How do we foster a feeling of progress when everything feels at a stand still? What do we do to get through those days, weeks, months or years of feeling “stuck.”

I’m going to share with you what I do, what has worked for me and what has not worked. Take what you like and leave the rest, but know that as you try different things make sure you adapt everything to work in your life.

Create a routine.

This could be waking up at the same time every day and going to bed at the same time, to eating your meals at the same time each day, to mapping out your hours – whatever you need to feel secure about what is coming next in your day.

Write down your accomplishments.

Over the course of your treatment and recovery process your definition of an accomplishment is going to change. For a long time, the biggest accomplishment in my life was a day without eating disordered behaviors. Then I started looking at balanced meals. Today accomplishments look like getting housework done, advocating, and doing something that spreads light into the world. What I define as an accomplishment next week, next month or next year is going to be different – it all depends on where I am in my life and my recovery. Just like your definition of an accomplishment will change over time. But whatever they are – make sure you write them down and review them when you need them, remind yourself of what you are capable of. Keep an accomplishment journal.

Get support.

With the exception of my best friend and God and my treatment providers, I don’t often communicate with people about the inter workings of my head when it’s happening. But the truth is the more we communicate and share with others the more we realize that we are not alone in how we feel. What is worse than feeling stuck? Feeling stuck and alone. Try asking others in your life if they have ever experienced a similar experience. Another thing that could be helpful is investigating a support group. The absolute truth is that you are NOT alone (even if your brain attempts to convince you otherwise).

You are beautiful. You are worthy.