Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

you_don__t_have_to_be_great_to_start__but_you____by_maronandlando-d4gy5z5

Let’s face it, some days are just going to be rough. Today has been one of those days for me. Drove back from Northern Virginia in the pouring down rain, felt some anxiety, ended up really disappointed towards the end of the day, and now feeling uncertain in the early hours of the morning when I should be asleep.

Right now in this moment I can see two very obvious choices:

  1. Unhealthy – participate in behaviors that give me a sense of control, let my negative emotions and thoughts overwhelm me, and possibly send myself into a place where I don’t want to be.
  2. Healthy – Get ready for bed, and in prayer give everything I cannot control to God. I’m also going to make a list of things I can control to help me feel better and less anxious.

Sometimes, like tonight the options and choices are clear cut. Sometimes, it is far from clear. But writing it out in this way is always helpful for me.

Goodnight (or good morning)
Take good care of yourselves!