Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It is the rare occasion that I see something on the internet that upsets me the the point of lecturing myself about what is right and what is wrong.

I’m here to tell you that the AspireAssist device, otherwise known as a stomach-pumping machine for calorie reduction is wrong. FLAT out wrong.

Consuming calories then forcefully removing them from your body (also known as purging) is a form of eating disorder called bulimia nervosa. I have suffered fought tirelessly for recovery from this disease for the better part of my life. In recovery we are taught that food is a nourishment. And junk-inventions like this undo that teaching not only leading individuals struggling with food issues astray but also sending the WRONG and DARK messages to millions around the world.

Messages such as:

1. Be thin at all cost
2. Getting rid of your food after intake is appropriate behavior
3. Your worth is in your appearance
4. Eating Disorders are normal

Everyday we have to pick a side: right or wrong. What message do you want to send to your friends, your loved ones, your children?

Hopefully not those. Think about it.

My name is Erin and this is Where I Stand.