Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You are not alone.

There is so much hope in recovery.

It is so common for individuals suffering from an eating disorder (or other mental illness) to feel isolated in their illness. I felt isolated in the depths of my disease; trapped in behaviors. I felt shame and embarrassment. But remember…

You are not alone.

1in20

I don’t know about anyone else, but I was pretty certain during the first few years of my eating disorder that I was the ONLY person on earth that did the behaviors I did with food. The more I got involved in treatment however the more I found out that THAT very thought was a lie I was believing.

If it is depression, an eating disorder, bipolar disorder, a personality disorder, ADD, schizophrenia or whatever our brains our going to work really hard to convince us that we’re by ourselves stuck in this ugly darkness that no one else understands. This could lead us to reject treatment, push friends and family away and hide in our homes (I’ve done all of those!)

The ironic thing about darkness is while it is scary and hard and ugly and cold so many times we find out who we are there, and we meet others there who mean so much to us. No one likes to be in the dark. No one likes pain. No one likes the struggle and struggle and struggle. But knowing that we can reject that lie that we’re the ONLY one struggling helps. It makes the darkness less dark, and the coldness less cold. Take heart because you’re not alone (and you NEVER are!)

It does not matter who you are: Everyone experiences darkness sometimes.

P.S. YOU are NOT alone.

My name is Erin and this is Where I Stand.

staystrong