Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

A message from a teacher, a friend, a daughter, a sister, a follower of Jesus, a Where I Stand supporter, survivor, a mentor and a beautiful human being:

“I woke up this morning feeling like I had to post a message on here. I believe that Where I Stand, along with the support of friends and family, has been nothing but a complete blessing in my life for the past year. This organization was developed for a God given reason and I know that I am not the only one who feels that way. In the past year I have moved away from home, completed the first year of my teaching career, worked on relationships, gone through many trials, and discovered more and more about who I really am. Throughout my “younger” years I tried really hard to sweep things under the rug and cover up things about myself and my life. That was not me. That is not who I really am. In the past year, God has opened my eyes to the reality and truth of who I am. I have prayed, stumbled, lashed out, grieved, cried, panicked, yelled, depended on God’s word, and have searched and searched to figure out the foundations of “me”. A year ago I asked myself a question: What makes me who I am? Well, low and behold God has answered that question in more ways than one. God showed me the fruit throughout several experiences in the past year: I am a great teacher, humble, loving, kind, mentor, stronger than I thought, helpful, a good speaker, leader, and a person who will most likely always put others before myself. But, God also showed me things about myself that I had tried so hard to cover up. Being out on your own pretty much requires you to focus on the one person that you often times do not want to face: yourself. I started out with intense research and then with the help and prayers of loved ones was actually able to walk into a physician’s office. After many weeks of evaluations and conversations I heard the truth, that stuff I thought was weak and that no one would accept me for. That stuff that I thought made me look weird or like a freak. I was clinically diagnosed with an Anxiety Disorder on the spectrums of severe OCD tendencies/Panic Disorder/and Separation Anxiety tendencies, which is more commonly known as DPD (Dependent Personality Disorder). Wow, I know, that sounds like a mouthful. At first, I felt that overwhelming feeling that I was a freak: I wished I could be “normal”. I felt “sick” and “weird” because I had to go on medication. But then God dried my eyes and made me realize something more important than anything else in this world: Lori I made you, you are who you are, and I love you. The most perfect words that I had ever felt and heard in my life. Today, I am who I am. Through intense research and discovery I am proud of who I am. I too, love who I am and who I am becoming. I am no longer ashamed or embarrassed to speak about who I am. No one is perfect and every person is made up of different traits and talents. I am no longer afraid to stand up. Today I stand for being honest with who you are. YOU too are special and God loves you, just the way you are. Thank you to my own personal “support team” and Thank you Where I Stand. 

Everyone has a story. Where do you Stand?

Image