Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Where I Stand bloggers are individuals who have a passion for erasing the stigma associated with mental health and spreading hope and awareness through personal their education, knowledge and personal experience. Where I Stand welcome’s guest bloggers in the areas of: Mental Health Awareness, Recovering Planning, Bullying, Eating Disorders, Body Image, Substance Abuse, Recovery, Faith and Healing, Mental Health in k-12 Education, Women’s Mental Health, Depression, Mood Disorders, Personality Disorders, Perspectives from the Mental Health Professionals, and College Mental Health. If you are interested in blogging for Where I Stand about one or more of these things please take a look at our Where I Stand’s Guest Blogging Guide: Where I Stand Guest Blogging 101. Then email us at whereistandblog@gmail.com.

Polaroid PDC 4350Graham Shields

Current City: Liverpool, United Kingdom

Topics: Depression, Recovery, Bipolar Disorder, General Mental Health

I was born in Liverpool, UK & this is where I’m currently living with my wife & two cats. I went to Sunderland University & studied History. I had no idea what I wanted to be, but enjoyed History at school & so thought why not? I met my wife at University & the first two years together was a long distance relationship. They can work, you just need to want to make it work.

Why Where I Stand? For a number of years I’ve wanted to help reduce the stigma around mental health. It has only been recently that, aside from my own blog, I’ve decided to be more proactive about making that happen. By guest blogging on Where I Stand I hope to reach a bigger audience & share my own experiences of having Bipolar Type 2.

Interests, education, fun facts: I like to read Science Fiction & Crime novels. I’m determined to do a Triathlon one day (not sure if this is an interest or fun fact). I absolutely love visiting new countries. I’ve never backpacked, but would love to do it when I’m older. I have holidayed in Thailand (Bangkok, Koh Samui & Phuket), Singapore, Malaysia (Kuala Lumpur & Langkawi), USA (Philadelphia & St Louis), France (Paris, Nice, Monaco, St Tropez), Spain (Barcelona), Bulgaria (Sophia), Romania (Bucharest), India (Goa), Dominican Republic. Some of these places I went to as a kid & the rest have been budget holidays or great deals.

Where I Stand is thrilled to have Graham as one of our guest bloggers! We all know that there is power in standing together!

WIS Hand_Fotorhandplain