Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tired and Hungry:
When emotions and behaviors run wild

images

In the world of mental and behavioral health sometimes the best thing to do is go back to the basics. When an individual suffers from a mental health diagnosis their body/mental & emotional state is already under additional stress throughout the day with attempts to regulate emotions, practice dealing with cognitive distortions and also, if on medication metabolizing the medication.

I write this post because I have type II bipolar disorder, and am in recovery from an eating disorder. Let me tell you if I become exceedingly tired or exceedingly hungry I become depressed, anxious, I have an increased level of disordered thinking, my medication does not metabolize correctly, I often times feel ill which makes my eating get thrown off even more, and so on and so forth.

Back the the Basics

back_to_basicsYou think I’m the only one? I work as an activities counselor for a therapeutic home for teen boys. They all individually have their own traumatic experiences, diagnosis or behavioral issues and when they have had enough rest and enough nutritious food they are less restless, attend to their chores, get along better with one another and staff.

I have been in recovery for just about two years now; and still to this day every so often I evaluate myself on my basics. How am I doing on rest? How I am doing with consistent meals? How I am doing with exercise? How am I doing with medication? Because the truth is the second one of my basics gets away from me my recovery is in jeopardy.

It’s time to go back to the basics.

My name is Erin and This is Where I Stand