Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

WIS Hand A_FotorWhere I Stand bloggers are individuals who have a passion for erasing the stigma associated with mental health and spreading hope and awareness through personal their education, knowledge and personal experience. Where I Stand welcome’s guest bloggers in the areas of: Mental Health Awareness, Recovering Planning, Bullying, Eating Disorders, Body Image, Substance Abuse, Recovery, Faith and Healing, Mental Health in k-12 Education, Women’s Mental Health, Depression, Mood Disorders, Personality Disorders, Perspectives from the Mental Health Professionals, and College Mental Health. If you are interested in blogging for Where I Stand about one or more of these things please take a look at our Where I Stand’s Guest Blogging Guide: Where I Stand Guest Blogging 101. Then email us at whereistandblog@gmail.com.

We are thrilled to introduce to you Audra: Where I Stand’s newest guest blogger. Please read Audra’s bio below and be on the look out for her monthly posts! You can see her first post titled “Hope.” here!

Audra Anderson

Audra A. Anderson

Current City:  Newmarket, New Hampshire

Topics:  Bi-polar and Uni-polar Depression, Borderline Personality Disorder, Eating Disorders, PTSD, Recovery and General Mental Health Issues and Topics.

I was raised moving back and forth from Norway to the United States.  I had the unique opportunity to experience the world in a “greater” sense, to live a completely different culture, government and view of mankind in general. 

I married young and was a mother by twenty years of age.  Through the twenty-five years of marriage and motherhood, I learned many difficult life lessons.  I learned that I suffer from PTSD, and eating disorders.   I eventually learned my husband suffers from ADHD and Bi-polar Disorder.  My eldest daughter was eventually diagnosed with Borderline Personality Disorder and ADD, while my youngest also suffers from anxiety issues, ADHD, and Bi-polar Disorder.

Why Where I Stand?:  I was once completely ignorant of mental health issues.  Once I began educating myself, and then seeking professional help for my family, and myself I saw the overwhelming need to help reduce the stigma of mental illness by education and awareness.  I work tirelessly to achieve this goal.

 Interests and Fun Facts:  In the past four years I have become a certified and trained advocate, teacher, speaker, facilitator and trainer for Mental Health Issues and Awareness.  I have the unique honor and privilege of being allowed to volunteer in the State Psychiatric Hospital on the Children’s Unit, and also connect with the families of the children to help support and direct them to mental health resources.  I am also a trained Suicide Prevention Trainer within the Community. 

I am also a legally ordained Minister, on two Boards of Directors, and love auto mechanics, my Hemi Dodge Charger, music and nature.  I am stubborn and self determined, and that has worked well as an advocate for those who may not be able to advocate for themselves.

Interested in guest blogging for Where I Stand like Rachel, Graham and Audra? Email whereistandblog@gmail.com for more information!