Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Taking inventory of the parts of our lives where we are working on goals, progress, recovery etc is an important practice because it not only gives up a bit of a roadmap for where we are going but it also can show us how much progress we’ve made. Answer the following questions:

1. How is my mental health affecting me physically?
2. How is my mental health affecting me emotionally?
3. How is my mental health affecting me relationally? 
4. How is my mental health affecting me spiritually?

               After you’ve answered the questions above review your answers. What do you think? Were your answers surprising to you or did everything come out the way your expected it to? I remember the first time I did this exercise. I was really overwhelmed. At times in recovery I felt like I had so much to work on and fix that there was no way I could ever do it all. What I learned though is that improvement in one area seemed to affect the other areas in good ways too (even just a little bit). I still like to go through these questions sometimes as a way of checking in with myself; because if we’re being honest – mental health is a full time life long process – but it does get easier. This would also be a great exercise to take into a session with a mental health professional to talk through.

Remember what you write/wrote on that paper is NOT who you are – it is actually a picture of the struggle and fight you’ve been fighting. Try to be proud for surviving, mental illness is one tough battle.

My name is Erin and This is Where I Stand.

WIS Hand A_Fotor_hand

* Where I Stand’s recovery exercises are simply writing exercises used to help individuals examine their own lives. These exercises are NOT to be used in replace of professional help i.e. (counselor, psychiatrist, therapist, psychologist, medical doctor, dietician, social worker etc.)