Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

525711_10151815227261900_898867855_nLizzie Elsberg

Current City: Lorton, VA

TopicsEating Disorders, Anxiety, Depression, PTSD, Trauma, Abuse, Recovery Topics

 Lizzie was born and raised in Virginia. Though she came from a privileged, loving family, she also learned many of life’s difficult lessons from a very young age. These circumstances gave Lizzie a huge heart for those who struggle with abuse, addiction, and mental illness. She hopes to use her experiences to help others.

 Lizzie graduated from the University of Virginia in 2011 with a Bachelor’s in Biomedical Ethics. After taking a few years off to focus on her own growth and recovery, Lizzie plans to return to graduate school at Virginia Commonwealth University to study Social Work in the Fall of 2014. She hopes to, one day, be a therapist working with individuals suffering from mental illness.

Why Where I Stand?: For years, I lived in silence. I was too ashamed to admit that I saw a therapist, that I took psychiatric medications, that something was wrong with me, mentally. I now realize that I had no reason to be embarrassed; I had a disease, and I was definitely not to blame for things that had happened to me. When I finally started telling people that I suffered from an eating disorder, anxiety, and depression is when I started to get better. For the past two years, I have been in and out of treatment for my eating disorder. Along the way, I opened up about past abuse. I was diagnosed with PTSD, and suffered from dissociative seizures. It was a hard journey, but it was a journey that I do not regret. Once I broke my silence, I realized that I was not alone. Once I told the truth, I started to heal.

 Lizzie’s Interests: writing, shopping, hearing about other people, mental health issues, games, and playing with her puppy, Sophie.

Be on the lookout for Lizzie’s first post!

Please visit our guest blogger page to learn more about our other guest bloggers for Where I Stand! Click here. Are you interested in becoming a guest blogger for Where I Stand? email Whereistandblog@gmail.com.