Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1005061_10151549557917772_652118532_nOkay – you caught me. I like things a certain way (well, fine I like things my way) We could place this under my need for control or my compulsion for perfection. Some people call it Type A personality. I don’t really care what we call it. The cold hard truth is when something out-of-my-control creeps into my day everything stops. I wish this wasn’t the case – but it is.

This morning I couldn’t find my keys. Normal right?

Not so much. I mean this has happened to me before only to have a panic attack  tear my entire room apart, call my mom (who is in another city) crying, no balling, and feeling like the world is over. This morning (thankfully) was a little less dramatic. As much as I wanted to scream and yell, I didn’t. I reminded myself that things happen. By things in this instance I mean annoying, bad, frustrating, uncontrollable, lame, ridiculous, and unfortunate things. Reminding myself of this didn’t make losing my keys any better. I still felt stupid, frustrated and anxious to no end.

…but things happen.

That thought replaying in my brain reminded me it was going to be okay (despite my worst emotions). That thought allowed me to move onto what was next. It’s time to call my landlord. Do I have a spare car key? Have I looked everywhere? I need to call work and tell them I will be late.

Feelings and Thoughts

They don’t always match do they? Sometimes I feel horrible and have to talk my self into a better place. Why? Because things happen in life – and I’m determined to live it, not survive it.

My name is Erin and This is Where I Stand.