Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

largeI’m not big on conventionality. As my coworker says: “Oh Lord there is only one Erin Casey.” He’s right. I do things differently than most people. I don’t care much for anyone’s expectations for me (as my own usually exceed anything they can possibly give.) I do things when I am ready – not in accordance with social norms or what Dr. Oz, Dr. Phil, or Dr. Feel Good tell me on TV. No, because they are not inside my body, my head nor living my day-to-day they don’t have a say.

There is no one-size-fits-all for taking care of our mental health (which is attached to every part of our lives). There isn’t a secret pill, a number of minutes of exercise or a certain amount of sleep for everyone. We’re not all going to have the same aha moments or be inspired or fueled by the same thing. It’s just simply not going to happen.

So be different.

94577_20130420_082411_tumblr_mh68ucuTin1rbk0joo1_500Sometimes I stay in bed, eat yogurt, and watch harry potter. Other days I get up early and conquer the world. I ask for what I need. I do what’s best for me without apology. I allow myself to be sad and frustrated. I enjoy the moments when I’m excited and happy. I utilize every support available to me.

Sometimes I go slow, sometimes I go super fast, sometimes I stop – and it’s all good because I decide.

You get to decide too. Live life at your own pace.

My name is Erin and This is Where I Stand.