Tags

, , , , , , , ,

largeDoesn’t it seem like everyone has an opinion about what you should be doing to take care of yourself? Maybe you’re stuck between family members and providers who disagree about your diagnosis, current situation or treatment regimen.

I’ve been there and it’s a crappy place to be.

Even today a few years well into my recovery I still hear the opinions of others often in question form that imply judgement without knowledge of what the current status of my mental and physical well being.

“Do you really think you need that medication?”
“Do you really think you need that provider or therapist?”
“Shouldn’t this be better?”
“Well, compared to [insert name]….”
“Why can’t you…”
“Why do you…”

Now listen, a lot of the ignorant things people say to me I’m able to brush off; I’ve grown a tough skin and low expectations for the world’s understanding and readiness to understand mental health on the level that I am openly talking about it. But those people in my life that I’m closest too, those that I expect some comfort and relief from – those people I sometimes feel hurt by.

I’ve learned a few truths that help me cope with this hurt; and they might help you.

  1. People will never fully understand what you are going through and/or experiencing (so don’t expect them to.)
  2. I don’t have to explain everything to everyone AND I don’t have to explain anything to anyone I don’t want to.
  3. Just because someone doesn’t understand mental illness/mental health does not mean they don’t care about me.
  4. If I remind myself, and believe that I’m okay, that’s enough.
  5. At the end of the day it does not matter what anyone says or thinks about my recovery as long as it works for me.

 

Remember relationships are difficult without mental health issues! Ask help for navigating them if you need to. You are worthy of support and love.

My name is Erin and This is Where I Stand.