Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Fashion-Magazines

I’m the girl who knows the images in the magazines are fake, but still there is a part of me that thinks I can look like them if I work hard enough. That’s actually a constant fight I have with myself.

This is what goes on in my brain:

Gosh, her skin is so clear and complexion so even, you need to wash your face three times per day starting today – no exceptions. Oh – and you need to wear makeup like her and make your eyes look bigger.

But how will I wear make up if I wash my face three times per day?

OK, fine. Wash my face two times per day and buy really expensive special make up for clear skin. And really expensive special face wash for clear skin.

Okay that’s a plan.

Well, if I’m going to go all out for my face I should get her body too. Right? I mean if she can do it I can.

Okay, face wash, make up, and work out three hours everyday. Wait – when am I going to work out for three hours?

Get up before dawn and go on a diet – that should do it.

Oh man. I’m getting stressed out. (and overwhelmed)

……

Then sanity creeps in: “Erin that image is digitally modified, no amount of make up, face wash, working out, or dieting is going to make you look like that…. SHE doesn’t even look like that.

Okay forget it. My best is good enough.

Always remember YOUR best is good enough.

My name is Erin and This is Where I Stand.