aromadough1

I thought that we would do something more hands on today for todays art post. When I was first in recovery I had a lot of nervous energy and would have to have something to manipulate in my hands all the time. I came up with the idea of using calming essential oils in play-dough. This was not only able to relieve my nervous energy the scents were extremely calming.

What you will need:

one and a half cups of salt

three cups of warm water

three cups of plain flour

three tablespoons of oil

six teaspoons of cream of tartar

food coloring

Essential oils any will work – I have even used extracts when in a bind – you only need a very small amount

Here is how it works:

First add the salt and water to a large pan and heat until the salt has melted. Next, add the flour, oil and cream of tartar and heat over a medium heat, stirring continuously until it starts to pull away from the sides. Make sure to stir vigorously during this step. Next take the dough out of the pan and knead for about two minutes or so. The dough will be hot so be careful. Then split the dough into smaller amounts and add the food coloring and essential oils to the different smaller batches.

I have used several different essential oils, lavender, tea tree, eucalyptus, and camomile. You can use whatever scent you would like. I have also used food grade extracts vanilla, lemon, mint, and almond.

In a airtight containers these will last for months. It is also something you can do with children. I kept mine in small air tight containers in my purse and would pull them out whenever I needed them.

Have fun creating and if you have any questions feel free to ask! My name is Dawn and this is Where I Stand

aroma2