10483627_10202230455754059_619531641573567890_nI turned 24 on tuesday. Honestly, in the weeks leading up to it I felt this strange pressure that I had to have my entire life together by now. I didn’t want to be 24. Honestly I was afraid that by turning 24 I was becoming that much more of an adult and somehow I had to have all the answers. Thankfully, my mother stepped in and set me straight.  Below is a conversation that my wonderful mother and I had the day before my birthday.

Me: “Mom, I just don’t want it to be my birthday, I know it sounds stupid but 24 feels so old and I don’t know I feel like it’s too much pressure. I’m not a grown up yet.

Mom: “Erin, tomorrow we are celebrating your life! I can’t tell you how thankful I am that you’re alive to celebrate 24. We also get to celebrate everything you’ve accomplished and the person you’ve become.”

I wanted to share this part of our conversation with you because what my mom said really impacted me. Originally because she was right, it’s a beautiful thing that I’m turning 24 at all. But also beyond that, she reminded me to be grateful; not scared.

There are a lot of things to be afraid of in life. For me I’m afraid of failure, rejection, relapse, my loved ones getting badly hurt or sick, and things like that. But there are SO many more things to be grateful for. I’m so grateful for my amazing family and friends, the people I’ve met through Where I Stand and the experiences, my passions and convictions, the health that I have today, learning, books, writing, good coffee and, my cat Megan and so much more.

I was approaching my 24th birthday with fear, and then I opened my eyes (with the help of my mom) and realized how many beautiful and wonderful things there are today and how there are only more to come in the future.

A lot of the time life is about perspective.  Be grateful; not scared.

My name is Erin and This is Where I Stand.

10421545_10202230457834111_177074556819727153_n