Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

We’re all scared.

It’s natural to run from fear. Often times that feeling we get in the pit of our stomach is a feeling we want to go away… quickly. It’s instinct. And, it’s good. There are situations in life where we should indeed run – dangerous – life-threatening – harmful situations where we need to pull back, retreat, sometimes run in the opposite direction.

But there is another type of fear. I felt it waiting in the airport in Atlanta about to board my flight to Arizona, where I received inpatient treatment for my eating disorder. It was terrifying. I called a friend, Renee, crying “I don’t think I can do this.” terrified about what was about to happen. Terrified to get on my connecting flight. But scared not to also. For, had I not boarded that plane, had I not made the decision to continue to make choices to purse health; my life would have been more of the same: disease, destruction, darkness, illness, pain, depression over and over again.

I was scared.

We’re going to be scared in life. We’re going to fear the unknown. We’re going to fear change. We’re going to be afraid for other people. We are going to be scared. There is so much to fear; and there is little we can do about it.

So we take that fear and become motivated. Ask yourself questions. Is change worse than what I have now? What is necessary? What is good? What is the risk? What could I gain? What could I lose? Who do I want to be? Who am I today?

It’s okay to be scared. We’re all scared. It’s what you do with that fear that matters.

My name is Erin and this is Where I Stand.

423323_366717813362149_251991748168090_1126290_109140434_n