Tags

, , , , , , ,

“Relapse is part of recovery.”

IMG_0807The first time someone spoke those words to me I thought to myself: well it won’t be part of my recovery. My recovery is going to be perfect. Alas, I was wrong and my perspective at the time was being blocked by my own perfectionism and misunderstanding of the recovery process.

One of the biggest reasons I assumed that I would not have to deal with relapse or slips or mess ups or anything of that sort was I’ve been known to be a little bit of an overachiever. What I didn’t realize initially was in recovery you can’t just “work harder” to make it go away. It truly, honest to God is a process; and relapse and slips are part of that process.

You can imagine how I felt during that first relapse. My head swirled with negative thoughts:

“I’m a failure”
“This is impossible.”
“I’m too broken to ever get better.”

The truth was though it wasn’t me that was broken or wrong – it was my perception of what the recovery process was.

So today we’re going to talk about the place of relapse and slips in the recovery process. 

A Relapse – occurs when then current treatment plan that you are working with is not working effectively to keep you healthy and in a place of recovery.

IMG_0872A Slip – occurs as an isolated event that happens as a “mistake” or “slip-up”. A Slip is followed by careful examination of possible triggers and open accountability with your treatment team/supports.

During the time when I was telling myself that I was going to be perfect at recovery I was setting myself up for failure. One of the most positive things about accepting that relapse and slips are going to occur is that is gives you time to prepare for them. After being humbled in the recovery process through relapse/slips I realized how much I had learned from each situation that brought me further on my journey to health.

Briefly to begin to prepare for your own relapse and slips answer these questions:
  1. What situations in life cause heightened emotions?
  2. Who can I be accountable to when I am not doing well?
  3. Why do I want recovery?
  4. What are some of my most effective coping skills?
  5. How do I define my recovery?
  6. What are my signs of Relapse?
If you want to talk more about Recovery, Relapse and Slips feel free to email us at whereistandblog@gmail.com or wait for more posts on the subject.

Always remember that recovery is a lot like life and in life there is no perfection. 

My name is Erin and This is Where I Stand.

IMG_0836